DC Medical Marijuana Reciprocity!

Today is the day, my pretty penguins! DC Medical Marijuana Reciprocity has officially begun. If you have your Maryland medical card– or a print out of your certification- you can visit any DC dispensary right meow! Be sure to check out the Gentleman’s Guide to DC Dispensaries before you go. Now, here’s the crunchy deets for ya:

States Included in DC Medical Marijuana Reciprocity

Reciprocity in D.C. includes certified patients from most state medical marijuana programs. At this time, the D.C. Dept. of Health has authorized certified patients from the following states to make purchases at D.C. dispensaries:

  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Montana
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Washington

Unfortunately, patient certifications from AK, AR, AZ, CA, GA, MN, ND, NM, NV, NY, OH, PA, PR, and VT are not currently included in the program. In some cases, this is because the D.C. Dept. of Health considers certain states to have different rules for patient enrollment than the District’s program. Other states will be declared eligible once their medical marijuana program is fully operational.

They’re working on bringing new states into the program. I’ll revise this post when that happens, but this is what we got for now. Cali’s exclusion is notable.

What to Bring:

The following two items are required to make purchases at D.C. dispensaries:

  1. State-issued photo ID
  2. Current state-issued medical marijuana card OR state-issued document proving current certification in the medical marijuana program. If your state doesn’t require a physical medical marijuana card, please bring any mail you’ve received from the program or print a copy of your online certification record in the state registry.

I know DC dispensaries and they are not, repeat not, gonna let you in the shop if you forget your documents. This ain’t Cali, bruh.

How much cannabis can I buy?

Under D.C. law, patients may purchase up to 4 ounces within a 30-day window. You may visit as often as you’d like, as long as your total dispensary purchases in D.C. do not exceed 4 ounces within a 30-day period. If you reach your limit, you’ll be able to purchase again as soon as one of your previous purchases becomes more than 30 days old.